Enslavement in Modern Times

07/08/2019

I didn't have a job until after I dropped out of College. I was working towards a degree in computer programming. I did manage to learn some forms of programming like MySQL to develop programs to run for companies and such. But I also felt I just didn't want to sit on my butt (Unhealthy) for 8 hours a day.

Unfortunately, my parents were no longer able to cover the costs and I managed to mess up a class (Pre-calculus) and lost the scholarship that would cover half of the cost. So I just decided to look for a job, oddly enough as a salesman. Being an introvert, this sounds odd but, it helped me develop myself to become more open.
I worked at a RadioShack near Jamaica and Woodhaven. Though it only lasted a week as they had some "issues" with my paperwork. I was kind of depressed at this time as I had no job and a means to sustain myself.

Though I was recommended at my next job. I managed to work nearly a decade, meeting and interacting with many people, a salesman in Telecommunications. I decided to leave the job, as business was quite slow and the stress and pressure I had of selling were too much for me to take. But, during my stay at this job I really started to connect many things. I am very thankful they opened their doors to me and gave me the chance to work.

I did more than just be a salesman, I became an anchor at the job. Doing shipping, stock, you name it. I even helped build and renovate the company's website. This helped me develop the wits to use it to my advantage now. Though now I have more free time and try to spread as much knowledge as I can to you guys. Still pushing to get noticed and make something of my music, art and acting skills (Which of course all have knowledge I have accumulated over time)

33

I hate to break it to you, but... the United States Government is one of the major staples that allows 3rd world countries to suffer poverty. Think about it, we are told the economy here is booming and there's jobs left and right. But its a whole different story if you actually look at the big picture.

Corporations and big "American" companies, such as Apple, all head over to Asian countries, such as China (which is a COMMUNIST country btw), to develop their product. Their products are developed at a minimal cost, then imported back to the US and sold for thousands of dollars at times. This is done to maximize profit. The worst part is, many people line up and make lines for days to purchase said products (That typically have bugs and issues right off the bat!)

Not putting the blame "just" on Apple, but look at the stylish Jordan's that people kill each other for. These shoes are made in Indonesia, of course, the same applies as what I mentioned above, to maximize profit. Wouldn't it be nice if those jobs actually stayed on American soil to create more jobs?

Even so, there are companies that make BILLIONS of dollars in profit but don't even pay a single cent in taxes. (I'm looking at you Amazon) Their working conditions are horrid, at times they don't even allow bathroom breaks!

But here we are, promised $15 an hour to flip a burger, while the inflation rate and cost of living keeps rising. So, is this "democracy" for "the people" or for those that it benefits the most? Materialism and consumerism sure have come a long way, slowly but surely consuming us, distracting us, taking our valuable time and money and also enabling poverty on our soil, so, where's the "equality"?

Think about it before putting your hard earned money on that next phone or "limited" pair of shoes. We may be the "richest" country in the world, but this country does not have anything to back its currency. Absolutely EVERYTHING (Including your food) is imported, this is why you pay $3.00 an avocado that was rooted in Mexico. Do you "really" want to enable this unjust system to get away with their crimes?

https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/312942 (Article on Amazon's working conditions)

© 2019 Willis the Illest. Non-Profit.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started